Which Butterscotch Chips Are Gluten Free?

Butterscotch chips bring a great flavor to many recipes, but you may have some concerns if you've cut gluten from your diet. We researched different brands from multiple professional sources so you'll know which ones will be safe for you to use!

There are many brands of butterscotch chips that are gluten-free. Some of the most popular options are:

  • Olive Nation
  • Baker's Corner
  • Great Value Butterscotch chips
  • Hershey's 
  • Kroger Butterscotch Chips

In this article, we'll take a closer look at each of these butterscotch chips. We'll also see if butterscotch flavor is gluten-free and substitutes for butterscotch chips. Read on to learn more about all this and more!

Gluten-free brands of butterscotch chips

Butterscotch chips in white bowl and scattered over wooden background, Which Butterscotch Chips Are Gluten Free?

Earlier, we listed some of the more popular brands of gluten-free butterscotch chips. While that list is not all-inclusive, it will give you plenty of options to choose from.

Let's take a better look at each one from our list so that you can decide which one you should use for your next recipe.

Olive Nation

The U.S.-made butterscotch chips are a favorite for baking. An 8 oz package will usually run just under $9. Like most butterscotch chips, these are similar in shape to the familiar chocolate chips you might have baked before.

Click here to see these on Amazon.

Baker's Corner

The Baker's Corner brand of butterscotch chips is a popular item on Amazon. This gluten-free option comes in a larger bag than the one offered by Baker's Corner. One 11 oz bag is under $12.

To view this product on Amazon, click here.

Great Value Butterscotch Chips

The 11 oz bag of Great Value Butterscotch Chips adds an even more buttery flavor to your baking recipes. This brand is offered by Wal-Mart and is under $2.50 a package.


The Hershey kingdom is about more than just chocolate. This brand offers a great gluten-free brand of butterscotch chips that are available at most grocery retailers.

This brand is also certified Kosher.

Kroger Butterscotch Chips

If you have a Kroger nearby, they will likely carry their private-label butterscotch chips. These gluten-free chips are a great addition to any recipe, and will certainly make for a great melted topping on your favorite desserts.

Is butterscotch flavoring gluten-free?

Freshly baked cookies stacked on a white plate.

It's not just the core ingredients of a recipe that you need to watch out for. Some of the additives and flavorings out there have gluten in them. When it comes to any flavorings and extracts, paying close attention to the label is important.

Any extract that is alcohol-based will be gluten-free. No matter what ingredients are used as the base, by the time it has been converted to alcohol the gluten has been removed.

The process that is used to make extract involves vaporizing the liquids, then turning them back into a liquid. When any protein is vaporized, it will not reenter the finished product.

When it comes to butterscotch flavoring, know that the alcohol extracts are okay. But if your recipe requires syrup, then you need to inspect the label to see if it contains any of the proteins commonly associated with gluten.

What can I use in place of butterscotch chips?

Freshly baked cookies stacked on a white plate.

Sometimes the store is out of what you are looking for. Or maybe you just plain forgot to grab that one item you needed. No matter. If you're in a pinch, there is a good substitute for those butterscotch chips.

Caramel chips have a similar flavor profile and can complete your recipe for scotches. They can even be melted in place of butterscotch to top ice cream, be drizzled on pies and cakes, or added as edible decorations on your favorite cookies.

While substituting caramel might not give you the buttery flavor of butterscotch, you'll probably find that it enhances your favorite dessert recipes just as well on its own.

What Nestle products are gluten-free?

One of the leading manufacturers of baking ingredients is the brand Nestle. If it's used in a cake, pie, or cookie, chances are, Nestle has a product for it.

Nestle's brand of butterscotch chips is NOT gluten-free, but you'll find that this industry leader has plenty of products that do not contain gluten and are conducive to a gluten-free diet.

Nestle is probably the most well-known for their chocolate chips. For those who are avoiding gluten, this product is gluten-free! But the rich chocolate chips this company makes are not the only gluten-free item.

Here's a list of other delicious products that Nestle offers that are great gluten-free additions to your favorite recipes or meals.

  • Semi-Sweet Morsels
  • Premier White Morsels
  • Milk Chocolate Chips
  • Chocolate Chunks
  • Semi-Sweet Mini Morsels
  • Milk Chocolate Morsels
  • Peanut Butter and Milk Morsels
  • Semi-Sweet and Premier White Swirled Morsels

As with any ingredients, always carefully inspect the labels to make certain that the product is gluten-free.

Occasionally, a manufacturer will change what goes into their offerings, which might change whether or not a certain item has or doesn't have gluten. This is especially important if you are gluten intolerant or have celiac.

Are Werther's Originals butterscotch?

 Werther's original caramel hard candies.

There are several butterscotch candies available in the candy aisle of your favorite store. If you've never had Werther's Original before, you'll find that this popular brand is among the most enjoyable butterscotch candies on the market.

This German-based company began in the city of Westphalia in 1903. While it's been a popular staple in Europe for over a century, it wasn't until an intense marketing effort in the 1990s that it became a large part of the United States market.

Since then, this brand is virtually everywhere that candies are sold.

Are butterscotch candies gluten-free?

Isolated Butterscotch Chips

You've no doubt seen the individually wrapped candies in dishes at hotels, restaurants, or your grandmother's house.

These tasty little bits of butterscotch goodness hit the spot if you've got a sweet tooth, and are the perfect treat and palate cleanser. And if you're trying to avoid gluten, these candies are made without any.

These butterscotch candies are made with artificial flavorings, typically extracts. As we've learned earlier in this post, the process by which extracts are made will eliminate any proteins contained in the base ingredients.

Since gluten is a protein, gluten (if any) is eliminated from the final product.

So unwrap one if you get a hankering and enjoy the butterscotch flavor without the worry of gluten!

Is butterscotch unhealthy?

Butterscotch by itself has several health benefits. The ingredient is good for an immune system boost and helps to improve a person's digestion. There are also benefits to the hair and skin that small amounts of butterscotch can trigger.

But butterscotch is an ingredient. And just because something has butterscotch in it does not mean that what you are about to ingest is the healthiest.

Butterscotch is mostly used in desserts. So while that butterscotch pie might do your skin a little good, the whopping amount of calories surely outweighs the benefits.

If you remember that everything should be done in moderation, then you should be fine. A butterscotch cookie or a piece of butterscotch cake every now and again is a great treat.

But don't fool yourself into thinking that just because these desserts have an ingredient that is beneficial that the benefits outweigh the potential downsides.

Final thoughts

If you are selecting butterscotch chips, be sure to carefully look at the label to see that the product does not contain gluten.

While some brands are gluten-free, there are plenty on the market that is not. This rule applies to butterscotch flavoring as well. Remember that ingredients can change in the same product over time, so be an informed consumer.

You made it to the end! We hope this post answered all your questions. For additional information, we recommend the following posts:

Does Butterscotch Have Dairy? [With Ways To Make It Vegan]

Will Butterscotch Schnapps Freeze?

What Can You Substitute For Butterscotch Schnapps?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *